Results for: haripur Search Results
Family Filter:
Hazara, May 3: North West Frontier Province is now called `Khyber Pakhtoonkhawa’, meaning the land of the Pashtuns. This however, is not acceptable to minority non-Pashtuns. Regions like Hazara, where non-Pashtuns are in a majority, are up in arms. The simmering anger and resentment has spilled into the streets of Abbotabad and Maneshra. The non-Pashtuns are demanding self-rule. Five districts Abbottabad, Battagram, Haripur, Kohistan and Mansehra in Pakistan –make up the Hazara Division. The people here consider themselves patriotic and loyal to the country. Unfortunately, they bear the brunt of discrimination by the Pakistani government and majority communities. And, the new name of NWFP adds to their woes. People in Hazara are now agitating and are all set to continue till the demand of autonomy for Hazara province is met.
3 May 2010
Share Video