David Nalbandian is disqualified from the AEGON Championships at Queens after accidentally injuring a lines...
David Nalbandian is disqualified from the AEGON Championships at Queens after accidentally injuring a linesman during an angry outburst. He was playing against Marin Cilic in the final.
For those of you who want to know. The ATP code states: "Players shall not at any time physically abuse any official, opponent, spectator or other person within the precincts of the tournament site. For purposes of this rule, physical abuse is the unauthorized touching of an official, opponent, and spectator or other person." So there you go. Keep calm and carry on is what one must do when one goes a break down in the second set.
Interview straight after: "I am sorry," says the Argentine, to some booing and some cheering. "I am sorry to do that. Sometimes we get very frustrated here on court. It is tough to control. Something it is a mistake. It is a tough moment to end a final like that. Sometimes we feel the pressure from the ATP. It is a mistake and I have to pay for that. Everybody makes mistakes."
Former Grand Slam doubles champion Peter Fleming on BBC Sport: "We players sometime like to think of it as us versus the world, as if we are victims. But sometimes you have to take responsibility and it was unfortunate Nalbandian didn't go for that when he had the opportunity."
BBC Radio 5 live summariser David Felgate: "Nalbandian has got it all wrong. It wasn't a sincere enough apology. To go off on some political rant had no bearing on what he did. I wonder if there could be a bigger fine for bringing the game into disrepute for that speech. He didn't even apology to the touch judge or Marin Cilic. It was a poor show from David Nalbandian."